Toivo Tänavsuu@Tallinn University_IMKE09

E-learning, tasks for week 4

Posted in E-learning by toitts on April 11, 2010

Find at least one good and one bad example case of course design and reflect your opinions of these courses in your personal Weblog.

I am sorry, but the question for me sounds a bit lopsided. There are at least two variables we have to know. In order to answer this question, we need to define “a good course” (or a bad one) and know whom are we talking about (good for who?).

I am returning to one of my earlier-stated principle: we shouldn’t be learning because of learning (or even not because of facts and concepts, diplomas and knowledge). We should be learning for inspiration and for certain higher level wisdom. What good will it do for us, if we overload our heads with tons of facts and theories?

So back to the initial question: a bad course doesn’t give me anything to think about and to apply in my work and this is probably partly due to the bad design of it. Contrary to a good course that makes me think, inspires me to actually do something new or make things better. If I happen to need “dry” information, I can always find it from the web, in a few seconds.

Unfortunately I don’t have any good examples of IMKE courses yet. But in general I am thrilled about the structure of different online course we have had, since they provide a certain freedom to do schoolwork when there’s time.  

As a group define what are the criteria for a good online course and reflect it in your group space (whatever you choose this to be), but make this group space visible to other groups by posting a link to your personal Weblogs.

http://tallinnuniversityprojects.pbworks.com/Online-Course-Criteria

Reading and reflection
1. Reflect and summarize on course readings in your personal Weblog: Explain, what are the components of course design!

These incredibly distant, dreary and futile theories are already making me angry, although I am very acquiescent and modest person.

Someone did some heavy research on how learning is facilitated and came up with the following: 

“Making errors is a natural consequence of problem solving.”

Another professor figured out that “learning is facilitated when learners are engaged in solving real-world problems.”

No comments!

When establishing a course, the design components you usually have to think about are fine   intro, purpose or objectives, structure, interaction, motivation, feedback, involvement and assessement. But can easily skip one or even more of them, as long as all of these finally end up in one thing: inspiration.

Learning something useless (just for learning or diploma) is not only wasting your time, but also deadening your mind and spirit. 

2. What was the most important thing you learned this week? What kind of questions/ideas/experiences this week’s activities raised for you? How is it related with the self-development plan in your personal learning contract?

This week I learned that we have a pretty effective groupwork ongoing. We managed to establish a list of course criterias from zero in almost no time.

I don’t have the self-development plan nor the learning contract yet, since I know exactly what I would like to achieve with this course. But I am thinking of establishing myself a learning contract by the end of this course!  The “self-development” part would be then finding motivation and usefulness of this! I am working on it.

3. Was there something you didn’t quite understand and want to know more about it?

“Learning is facilitated when the instruction demonstrates what is to be learned rather than merely telling information about what is to be learned.”

I read this statement five times, very slowly. And then went through the following chapter. And still didn’t quite catch the idea here.

4. What is your evaluation of this week’s groupwork? (What went well and what did not? How did groupwork influence fulfilling your personal learning contract?)

I think we have started our groupwork and established group interaction really well. Considering the different backgrounds and status quos we have.

5. Describe what has changed in your personal learning environment and in group environment?

I have gained some more experience on working with wikis. I still hate PBworks, but I think we could become friends at some point. It just takes time.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Terje said, on April 12, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Hey Toivo,
    I am impressed and happy that at least this course doesn’t leave you neutral. This is the most boring and perhaps less constructive feedback one can think of if the participants stay neutral. Either the experience produces positive feelings, satisfaction or antipathy and irritation. No matter positive or negative, at least it provides information to learn from or argue against it. I have got the feeling that you are a very practically oriented person who prefers hands-on activities without any theoretical insights or knowledge.

    I still can’t agree with you about the claim that facts and theories are totally useless. This course is built up with the attempt to provide some theoretical aspects that can be implemented into practice (your group work). Theories can be understood quite differently depending on a domain, but in general they have explanatory power and provide vocabulary to talk about the phenomena, help to find a common ground for understanding it…

    Thanks for making a point that the course literature needs to be revised 🙂 and provide something more challenging…

    I agree with your comment about this week’s question. It is phrased in that way on purpose to see whether the participants even think of these aspects. And as it seems, not that many. Usually the criteria for a good and bad course comes from the air or from general agreed understanding of what a good/bad course should(not) be. Or the criteria is taken from the personal experiences and it represents the way that person interprets of what a good course is.

    I don’t agree with you entirely about not getting anything from a bad course. I think a bad course might make a person think of its drawbacks and shortages and how she/he would like to improve it. I wonder whether a bad course destroys one’s motivation and interests to learn (if we talk about adult learners). Adult learner should know and be aware of what they want to learn and one bad course should not decrease their motivation, to the contrary, it should make them think and search resources to get this knowledge any how (at least in theory 🙂 ).

    If there is no good example of IMKE course, in this case you should be able to come up with the list of problems and drawbacks…why are they not good? what is missing or overdone?

    And I started to wonder….if any of the courses has been good, which means in your world inspiring ( and I agree with that to certain degree) … and if they are not inspiring, that means you find them useless…and then “learning something useless (just for learning or diploma) is not only wasting your time, but also deadening your mind and spirit”…Have you had time to reflect on your objectives in this master’s program? … 😉

    Finally…very well done! At least you inspire me 🙂
    Cheers,
    Terje

  2. Terje said, on April 12, 2010 at 11:44 am

    One more thing…
    the sentence “Learning is facilitated when the instruction demonstrates what is to be learned rather than merely telling information about what is to be learned.” I agree…a tricky one. I guess we have to concentrate on words demonstrates and tells…It reminds me of a very nice comic strip about the instruction for the dog where to pee, but I can’t find that at the moment…As soon as I find I’ll share it 🙂

    Terje


Leave a comment